Our philosophy

The Swiss Paraplegic Group is a centre of excellence, and the reference institution for anyone living with a spinal cord injury in Switzerland or surrounding countries.

Basel in the 1970s: while on the job, the young doctor Guido A. Zäch discovered just how little hope Switzerland offered residents who were living with spinal cord injuries: long hospital stays, poor medical care and no career perspectives. 

Taking matters into his own hands, he decided to campaign for improvements in the treatment of paraplegics. He sought to make paraplegics equals, allowing them to enjoy an autonomous way of life instead of remaining marginalised members of society. His goal was to create a centre of expertise where all those affected by spinal cord injuries in Switzerland and surrounding countries could meet. The centre was to provide for the comprehensive rehabilitation and professional and social reintegration of people affected by spinal cord injuries. Little by little, Guido created an organisation with an extensive range of services.

1975: Founding of the Swiss Paraplegic Foundation (SPF)
1978: Founding of the Swiss Paraplegic Foundation Benefactors' Association
1980: Founding of the Swiss Paraplegics Association (SPA)
1990: Opening of the Swiss Paraplegic Centre (SPC) in Nottwil
1994: Founding of Orthotec AG
2002: Founding of Swiss Paraplegic Research (SPR)
2003: Founding of the Swiss Institute of Emergency Medicine (Sirmed)
2005: Opening of the Guido A. Zäch Institute (GZI) in Nottwil

 

With the opening of the Guido A. Zäch Institute in Nottwil, a unique and integral network of services became available for people living with a back or spinal cord injury. The Swiss Paraplegic Group (SPG) is made up of the Swiss Paraplegic Foundation (SPF) and the latter’s subsidiaries and partner organisations.

Structure of the Swiss Paraplegic Group

Today, around 1,600 professionals and experts work together to ensure this unique network of services remains intact.

A unique network of services

The Swiss Paraplegic Group places the patient front and centre, doing its utmost to achieve its overall goal of meeting the needs of people affected by spinal cord injuries. The SPG acts responsibly with regard to its sponsors, uses resources for their intended purpose and provides transparent information regarding its activities. Its daily work is governed by trust, esteem, teamwork, results and the maintenance of its pioneering role in the industry.

The Swiss Paraplegic Group (SPG) is a global and unique network of services that provides for the comprehensive rehabilitation of people living with spinal cord injuries – from the scene of the accident or the diagnosis of a disease until the end of the patients’ lives. The SPG offers services in four key areas: Solidarity (Swiss Paraplegic Foundation, Benefactors’ Association, Hotel Sempachersee), medicine (Swiss Paraplegic Centre, ParaHelp, Sirmed), research (Swiss Paraplegic Research) and integration and lifelong assistance (Swiss Paraplegics Association, Orthotec). Around 1,600 professionals and specialists from a variety of areas and disciplines work together closely to fulfil this core mission.

Leistungsfelder Schweizer Paraplegiker Gruppe Nottwil

Swiss Paraplegic Group service structure

Our mission

We at the Swiss Paraplegic Group provide for the comprehensive treatment and rehabilitation of people living with spinal cord injuries, and help our patients to rediscover an autonomous way of life.

  • Swiss Paraplegic Foundation (SPF)

    The Swiss Paraplegic Foundation (SPF) is one of Switzerland's largest not-for-profit solidarity networks. The Swiss Paraplegic Group offers a comprehensive network of services to people with spinal cord injuries. Its combination of dependable services - from support at the scene of the accident to medical treatment, rehabilitation and lifelong assistance - is unmatched in Switzerland. The 1.8 million members of the Swiss Paraplegic Foundation Benefactors' Association provide the solidarity network with a strong and sustainable financial base. 

    Benefactors’ Association of the Swiss Paraplegic Foundation

    With over 1.8 million members, the Swiss Paraplegic Foundation Benefactors’ Association is one of the largest membership organisations in Switzerland. It was founded in 1978. The membership fees of this solidarity-based association allow for the Foundation’s objectives to be met: comprehensive treatment and rehabilitation, and the re-integration of para- and tetraplegics into their family, professional and social lives. Members who suffer an accident that results in a spinal cord injury and permanent dependence on a wheelchair will receive a payment of 250,000 Swiss francs. This kind of support is not only unique to Switzerland, but to the entire world.

    Hotel Sempachersee (HSS)

    The Hotel Sempachersee (HSS) in Nottwil is a subsidiary of the Swiss Paraplegic Foundation. The HSS is an ISO-certified hotel and has been named Swiss Conference Hotel of the Year on eight different occasions. Renovated in the fall of 2017, the hotel now boasts 41 conference rooms, three outdoor meeting spaces, two auditoriums, a lecture hall, the “Sempia” à la carte restaurant, the “Vivace” buffet-style restaurant, the “Aurora” banquet-style restaurant, the Lago bar with its garden lounge, the Onda bar in the GZI and 150 hotel rooms. Thanks to its wheelchair accessibility, the HSS is the perfect meeting place for both wheelchair- and non-wheelchair-users alike.

  • Swiss Paraplegic Centre (SPC):

    The Swiss Paraplegic Centre (SPC) is a privately owned clinic known all over Switzerland for being the leaders in the primary care, acute treatment, comprehensive rehabilitation and lifelong support of people living with spinal cord injuries and spinal cord-related syndromes. The SPC has 150 beds and an intensive care unit. The annual bed occupancy is 97%. In 2016, the SPC performed 1,085 inpatient treatments and nearly 53,000 days of care. The SPC employs more than 1,100 people from 80 different professional backgrounds. Since opening in 1990, over 250,000 inpatient and outpatient treatments have been conducted at the centre.
    The SPC was opened by Dr Guido A. Zäch in 1990. The specialised clinic is part of the Swiss Paraplegic Group (SPG), which is comprised of an extensive network of services providing for the the comprehensive rehabilitation of people with spinal cord injuries. The network is backed by the Swiss Paraplegic Foundation (SPF).

    Swiss Paraplegic Centre - renovation and expansion
    After a groundbreaking ceremony on 1 October 2015, construction is now well underway in Nottwil, and intended to build upon our past success. The expansion will create room for additional wards, a new intensive care unit and state-of-the-art operating rooms. A solution to the shortages of the past few years, the expansion will allow for approximately 1,300 inpatient treatments to be performed in the future (compared to 1,000 today). By the end of 2020, there will be a total of 190 available beds for such treatments.
    The new premises are expected to be ready for occupation by the middle of 2018.
    The clinic will continue to offer full outpatient and inpatient services throughout the construction period.

    Swiss Institute of Emergency Medicine (Sirmed)

    Sirmed, the Swiss Institute of Emergency Medicine, is a subsidiary of the Swiss Paraplegic Foundation (SPF). Sirmed is an expert in the administration of high-quality training in the fields of rescue and emergency medicine. Its courses are geared towards professionals and laypeople alike.

  • Orthotec

    Orthotec is a subsidiary of the Swiss Paraplegic Foundation (SPF) with headquarters at the Swiss Paraplegic Centre (SPC) in Nottwil. Orthotec offers a wide range of services to SPC patients as well as members of the public, covering topics such as orthopaedics, rehabilitation and wheelchair technology, and vehicle adaptation. Orthotec is also the market leader in the area of incontinence care.

    Active Communication (AC)

    Active Communication AG has been a subsidiary of the Swiss Paraplegic Foundation (SPF) since 1 January 2018. AC has been providing electronic and didactic aids to people with disabilities or neurological disorders since 1999, helping patients to enjoy increased activity and autonomy in their everyday lives. 

    ParaHelp

    ParaHelp counsels and supports people all over Switzerland who are affected by paralysis-related disabilities, providing customised, professional and targeted information to address the specific care and treatment needs of both patients and their families. ParaHelp’s approach is centred around home-based rehabilitation, complication prevention and improvements in quality of life.

    Swiss Paraplegics Association (SPA)

    The Swiss Paraplegic Association (SPA), which was founded in 1980 and has a membership of around 11,000, is the national umbrella organisation for people with spinal cord injuries. It promotes, represents and coordinates the interests of paraplegics, tetraplegics and other members throughout all of Switzerland. The SPA also provides support to 27 Swiss wheelchair clubs.

    Its approximately 220 employees (100 of which are full-time) and 2,000 volunteers strive to meet the social, political and personal needs of its members, and are committed to helping paraplegics and tetraplegics to reintegrate into society and improve their quality of life. Its services include the Institute for Legal Advice, Wheelchair Sport Switzerland (promotion of elite and grassroots sports), the Centre for Wheelchair-Accessible Construction and the Departments of Life Guidance and Culture and Leisure, the latter of which has its own travel agency and fleet of tour buses. The SPA publishes the member magazine “Paracontact", the sports bulletin ‘GoAhead” and the directory for wheelchair-accessible hotels www.rollihotel.ch, and provides sports information at www.rollstuhlsportevents.ch.

  • Swiss Paraplegic Research (SPR)

    Swiss Paraplegic Research (SPR), founded in 2000, is a research institution that is backed by the Swiss Paraplegic Foundation (SPF). SPR employs 65 members of staff. SPR conducts comprehensive rehabilitation research on the interaction between physical, mental and social factors in the development and overcoming of disabilities. SPR cooperates with other organisations at a national and international level. Recognised and promoted by the Swiss government and cantonal authorities as a non-university research institution, SPR, which has created an endowed professorship, a seminar on health sciences and health policy at the University of Lucerne and a Master’s Programme in Health Sciences, plays an important role in Switzerland’s research environment.

    Online community

    The online community reaches out to people living with spinal cord injuries, as well as the latter’s families and friends. The online community is ideal for exchanging ideas or obtaining valuable information from professionals.

    Swiss Spinal Cord Injury Cohort Study (SwiSCI):
    the SwiSCI is the national research platform for people with spinal cord injuries. It is operated by Swiss Paraplegic Research in conjunction with all paraplegia centres in Switzerland and the SUVA (Swiss National Accident Insurance Fund).

    Innovation Centre for Assistive Technology (IAT)

    The Swiss Paraplegic Foundation introduced the Innovation Centre for Assistive Technology (IAT) on 1 January 2018. As a centre of expertise and knowledge factory, it is the point of contact for the development and enhancement of resources for people with spinal cord injuries.

Interesting links

Become a member and receive CHF 250,00 in the event of an emergency.

Donate now and support our projects in favor of people affected by spinal cord injuries.

Notre vision

Le Groupe suisse pour paraplégiques est le centre de compétence et l’institution de référence pour toutes les personnes paralysées médullaires en Suisse et dans les pays limitrophes.

Bâle dans les années 1970 : le jeune médecin Guido A. Zäch découvre dans son travail que la vie des paraplégiques offre peu de perspectives en Suisse : longs séjours à l’hôpital, soins médiocres, pas de perspectives de carrière professionnelle. 

Il décide d’y remédier, souhaitant que les paralysés médullaires, qui menaient jusqu’alors une existence en marge de la société, puissent jouir d’une vie autonome et bénéficier des mêmes droits que les personnes valides. Son objectif est de créer un centre de compétence et de rencontre pour toutes les personnes concernées en Suisse et à l’étranger. Il devra permettre une rééducation intégrale ainsi que la réinsertion professionnelle et sociale des personnes atteintes de paralysie médullaire. Etape après étape, il met en place une organisation offrant des prestations de services complètes.

1975 : création de la Fondation suisse pour paraplégiques (FSP)
1978 : création de l’Association des bienfaiteurs de la Fondation suisse pour paraplégiques (AdB)
1980 : création de l’Association suisse des paraplégiques (ASP)
1990 : ouverture du Centre suisse des paraplégiques (CSP) à Nottwil
1994 : création d’Orthotec AG
2002 : création de la Recherche suisse des paraplégiques (RSP)
2003 : création de l’Institut suisse de Médecine d’Urgence (Sirmed)
2005 : création de l’Institut Guido A. Zäch (IGZ) à Nottwil

 

Un réseau de prestations unique en son genre pour les personnes atteintes de paralysie médullaire et de lésions dorsales est créé. Avec ses filiales et ses organisations partenaires, la FSP forme le Groupe suisse pour paraplégiques (GSP).

Configuration du Group suisse pour paraplégiques

Aujourd’hui, environ 1 600 professionnels et spécialistes travaillent en étroite collaboration pour maintenir ce réseau unique de services.

Un réseau de services unique en son genre

Le Groupe suisse pour paraplégiques place l’être humain au centre de l’attention et agit dans le respect de l’objectif principal. Il agit de manière responsable à l’égard de ses sponsors, utilise les ressources de façon ciblée et informe en toute transparence. Le travail quotidien est marqué par une culture de la confiance, de l’estime, de la coopération et par une orientation axée sur les résultats et le rôle précurseur du groupe.

Le Groupe suisse pour paraplégiques (GSP) est un réseau de prestations unique au monde, destiné à la rééducation intégrale de personnes touchées par une paralysie médullaire. Le suivi est garanti tout au long de la vie, depuis les lieux de l’accident ou en cas de diagnostic de paralysie médullaire due à une maladie. Le GSP couvre quatre champs de prestations : Solidarité (Fondation suisse pour paraplégiques, Association des bienfaiteurs, Hotel Sempachersee), Médecine (Centre suisse des paraplégiques, ParaHelp, Sirmed), Recherche (Recherche suisse pour paraplégiques) ainsi que Intégration et accompagnement à vie (Association suisse des paraplégiques, Orthotec). Afin de remplir la mission principale du GSP, quelque 1 600 professionnels et spécialistes issus de différents domaines de spécialisation et disciplines coopèrent étroitement.

champs de prestations

Champs de prestations du Groupe suisse pour paraplégiques

Notre mission

Le Groupe suisse pour paraplégiques assure le traitement et la rééducation intégraux des paralysés médullaires et soutient leur réinsertion dans une vie autodéterminée.

  • Fondation suisse pour paraplégiques (FSP)

    La Fondation suisse pour paraplégiques (FSP) compte aujourd’hui parmi les principales œuvres d’utilité publique du pays. Le Groupe suisse pour paraplégiques englobe un réseau de prestations intégral en faveur des paralysés médullaires. La coordination de prestations complètes est sans égale ; elle comprend la prise en charge sur les lieux de l’accident, les soins médicaux et la rééducation de même qu’un accompagnement tout au long de la vie incluant la fourniture de conseils aux personnes concernées. À travers leur affiliation à l’Association des bienfaiteurs de la Fondation suisse pour paraplégiques, les bienfaiteurs au nombre de 1,8 million apportent une base financière solide au déploiement de cette œuvre de solidarité. 

    Association des bienfaiteurs de la Fondation suisse pour paraplégiques (AdB)

    Avec plus de 1,8 million d’adhérents, l’Association des bienfaiteurs de la Fondation suisse pour paraplégiques compte parmi les organisations de membres les plus importantes en Suisse. Elle a été fondée en 1978. La solidarité des bienfaiteurs permet, grâce aux cotisations de ces derniers, de remplir l’objet de la Fondation, à savoir la prise en charge intégrale, la rééducation et l’intégration des paraplégiques et tétraplégiques dans leur milieu familial et professionnel ainsi que dans la société. En cas de paralysie médullaire consécutive à un accident, avec dépendance permanente au fauteuil roulant, les bienfaiteurs touchent un montant de soutien de 250 000 francs, ce qui est unique non seulement en Suisse, mais aussi dans le monde entier.

    Hôtel Sempachersee (HSS)

    L’Hotel Sempachersee (HSS) à Nottwil est une filiale de la Fondation suisse pour paraplégiques. Le HSS, qui a la certification ISO, a déjà été élu huit fois meilleur hôtel pour séminaires suisse de l’année. Seront à disposition, une fois les travaux terminés à l’automne 2017, 41 salles de séminaires, trois espaces de séminaires en plein air, deux auditoriums, une aula, le restaurant à la carte Sempia, le restaurant self-service Vivace et le restaurant avec salle de banquet Aurora, le Lago Bar avec Garden Lounge, le Onda Bar dans le hall du GZI ainsi que 150 chambres d’hôtel. Grâce à son infrastructure sans obstacles, le HSS facilite les rencontres, qu’on se déplace en fauteuil roulant ou non.

  • Centre suisse des paraplégiques (CSP)

    Le Centre suisse des paraplégiques (CSP) est une clinique spécialisée privée, reconnue au niveau national, dans le domaine des premiers soins, du traitement aigu, de la rééducation intégrale et du suivi tout au long de la vie des paralysés médullaires ainsi que des personnes touchées par des syndromes assimilables à la paralysie médullaire. Le CSP dispose de 150 lits, y compris d’une unité de soins intensifs. Le taux d’occupation annuel des lits s’élève à 97 %. En 2016, le CSP a enregistré 1 085 hospitalisations et fourni près de 53 000 jours de soins. Le CSP emploie plus de 1 100 collaborateurs issus de 80 catégories professionnelles différentes. Depuis son inauguration en 1990, le CSP totalise plus de 250 000 traitements, prises en charge en ambulatoire et hospitalisations confondues.
    Le CSP a été créé en 1990 par le docteur Guido A. Zäch. La clinique spécialisée fait partie du Groupe suisse pour paraplégiques (GSP) qui forme un réseau complet voué à la rééducation intégrale des paralysés médullaires. La Fondation suisse pour paraplégiques (FSP) constitue le support de ce réseau.

    Rénovation et agrandissement du Centre suisse des paraplégiques
    Après le premier coup de pelle donné le 1er octobre 2015, les travaux ont été lancés à Nottwil selon la devise «Nous écrivons la suite d’une histoire à succès». L’extension prévue comporte des unités de lits supplémentaires, une nouvelle unité de soins intensifs ainsi que des salles d’opération ultramodernes. Ces structures permettront de résoudre les problèmes de capacités rencontrés lors de ces dernières années. À l’avenir, il sera donc possible d’assurer 1 300 traitements hospitaliers contre environ 1 000 aujourd’hui. Fin 2020, 190 lits seront à disposition.
    Les nouveaux locaux devraient être prêts en 2018, en milieu d’année.
    La clinique continue de fournir la totalité de ses prestations pendant toute la durée des travaux, qu’il s’agisse de prises en charge en ambulatoire ou d’hospitalisations.

    ParaHelp

    Dans toute la Suisse ParaHelp conseille et soutient les personnes souffrant de paralysie médullaire. Elle leur apporte, ainsi qu'à leur entourage, des réponses professionnelles spécifiques, personnalisées et ciblées aux questions relatives aux soins et à l’accompagnement à domicile. L’aide fournie est axée sur la rééducation à domicile, la prévention des complications ainsi que l’amélioration de la qualité de vie.

  • Orthotec

    Orthotec, dont le siège social se trouve au Centre suisse des paraplégiques (CSP) à Nottwil, est une filiale de la Fondation suisse pour paraplégiques (FSP). Elle offre toute la gamme des prestations relatives aux techniques orthopédique et rééducative, au fauteuil roulant ainsi qu’à la transformation de véhicules et s’adresse aux patients du CSP, mais aussi aux clients externes. Orthotec est en outre une entreprise de pointe en matière d’articles pour l’incontinence.

    Active Communication (AC)

    Depuis le 1er janvier 2018, Active Communication SA est une filiale de la Fondation suisse pour paraplégiques (FSP). Depuis 1999, l’entreprise fournit aux personnes handicapées ou souffrant d’une maladie neurologique des moyens auxiliaires électroniques et didactiques afin qu’elles puissent participer davantage à la vie sociale et avoir une vie autodéterminée au quotidien. 

    Association suisse des paraplégiques (ASP)

    Fondée en 1980, l’Association suisse des paraplégiques (ASP) constitue l’organisation faîtière nationale des paralysés médullaires et compte plus de 11 000 membres. Elle défend, représente et coordonne dans toute la Suisse les intérêts des para- et tétraplégiques ainsi que ceux d’autres membres. Elle apporte en outre son assistance aux 27 clubs en fauteuil roulant régionaux aux quatre coins de la Suisse.

    Quelque 220 collaborateurs (dont 100 sont des employés permanents) et 2 000 bénévoles mettent tout en œuvre pour répondre aux préoccupations sociétales, sociales, politiques et personnelles des membres et travaillent à leur réintégration ainsi qu’à l’amélioration de leur qualité de vie. Les prestations offertes comprennent les Conseils sociaux et juridiques, le Sport suisse en fauteuil roulant (promotion du sport de haut niveau et populaire), celles du centre Construire sans obstacles, des départements Conseils vie ainsi que Culture et loisirs avec leur propre agence de voyages et flotte d’autocars. L’ASP publie par ailleurs la revue Paracontact pour ses membres, la newsletter sportive GoAhead de même qu'un répertoire des hôtels accessibles en fauteuil roulant sous www.rollihotel.ch. Elle fournit également des informations sportives sous www.rollstuhlsportevents.ch.

  • Recherche suisse pour paraplégiques (RSP)

    La Recherche suisse pour paraplégiques (RSP), soutenue par la Fondation suisse pour paraplégiques (FSP), a été créée en l’an 2000 et emploie 65 collaborateurs. La compétence de base de la RSP est la recherche en matière de rééducation intégrale et de synergies avec les facteurs physiques, psychiques et sociaux dans l’évolution et la maîtrise du handicap. La RSP coopère au plan national et international. Grâce à la reconnaissance et au soutien de la Confédération et des cantons comme institution de recherche para-universitaire, la création d’une chaire à l’université de Lucerne, l’instauration d’un séminaire consacré aux sciences de la santé et à la politique de santé publique ainsi que d’une filière mastère en sciences de la santé, la RSP remplit une mission importante dans le domaine de la recherche en Suisse.

    Communauté en ligne

    La Communauté en ligne s’adresse aux personnes touchées, à leurs proches et à leurs amis. Ils peuvent échanger des idées, mais ils peuvent aussi demander l’avis d’experts.

    «Swiss Spinal Cord Injury Cohort Study» (SwiSCI) :
    Il s’agit là de la plateforme de recherche nationale consacrée aux personnes touchées par une lésion médullaire, gérée par la Recherche suisse pour paraplégiques en coopération avec tous les centres de paraplégie de Suisse et la SUVA.

    Institut suisse de Médecine d'Urgence (Sirmed)

    L’Institut suisse de Médecine d’Urgence (Sirmed) est une filiale de la Fondation suisse pour paraplégiques de Nottwil (FSP). La mission principale de Sirmed est de fournir des formations de haute qualité en matière de sauvetage et de secourisme. Les offres proposées s’adressent au grand public et aux professionnels.

    Centre d’innovation pour les technologies d’assistance (IAT)

    La Fondation suisse pour paraplégiques a créé au 1er janvier 2018 le Centre d’innovation pour les technologies d’assistance. À la fois centre de compétences et fabrique de savoirs, il servira de point de contact pour l’élaboration et le développement de moyens auxiliaires destinés aux paralysés médullaires.

Liens intéressants

Adhérez maintenant et touchez le montant de soutien pour bienfaiteurs de CHF 250 000 en cas de coup dur.

Faites un don maintenant et soutenez nos projets en faveur des paralysés médullaires.