Jugendrehabilitations-Wochen

Youth rehabilitation weeks project

Each Donation counts

Choose donation amount

No matter the amount, you make an important contribution to paraplegics.

On the way to an independent life!

A unique project that helps to enable young wheel-chair users to lead as independent a life as possible. For three weeks, they work intensively at the goals they have set in order to take another step towards their independence.

Jugendrehabilitations-Wochen
Jugendrehabilitations-Wochen

Why is this project so important?

Life-long care and support for people in a wheelchair is essential for many reasons. In addition to medical and therapeutic care, it is important to achieve goals such as independence, self-determination, sports-related integration, and social integration. The earlier this starts, the better the prospects of equal opportunities and a better quality of life for the young people who are preoccupied with similar topics to those that concern able-bodied young people: relationships, clothes, appearance, and, of course, everything that is currently trendy. They want to be independent and to rely on as little help as possible from others. 

What do the youth rehabilitation weeks involve?

The young people come to Nottwil for three weeks. The goals they want to achieve during these weeks are de-fined individually for each young person. People in wheelchairs have various obstacles that they need to overcome. You can find out more about these in the series of images and the text printed below them. 

  • <p>Able-bodied people use escalators as a mat-ter of course. However, for wheelchair users this is a challenge that can only be mastered with a great deal of practice.</p>
  • <p>City training in Lucerne is a fixed compo-nent of the youth rehabilitation weeks. The image shows young people using the Euro key to operate the lift on Chapel Bridge. City training teaches them how to get about in public on their own.</p>
  • <p>The youth rehabilitation weeks programme also includes group outings. The young peo-ple can sleep on straw in the barn at Eyhof in Nottwil, where hippotherapy is provided with the horses housed there. In addition to its therapeutic purpose, contact with horses also has a positive effect on the young peo-ple's spirits.</p>
  • <p>The young people can talk about topics that concern people with paraplegia and tetraple-gia. However, there are also in-depth con-versations about clothes, going out, and what is currently trendy. Friendships for life are formed. </p>
  • <p>Sport is an important topic as people in wheelchairs need to ensure that their body is fit and strong. Transfers from their wheel-chair into bed, onto the sofa, and into the car are extremely physically demanding. The youth rehabilitation weeks provide the teen-agers with opportunities to try out various types of sport, such as using a hand bike or racing wheelchair, so that they can find something suitable for them. </p>

Able-bodied people use escalators as a mat-ter of course. However, for wheelchair users this is a challenge that can only be mastered with a great deal of practice.

City training in Lucerne is a fixed compo-nent of the youth rehabilitation weeks. The image shows young people using the Euro key to operate the lift on Chapel Bridge. City training teaches them how to get about in public on their own.

The youth rehabilitation weeks programme also includes group outings. The young peo-ple can sleep on straw in the barn at Eyhof in Nottwil, where hippotherapy is provided with the horses housed there. In addition to its therapeutic purpose, contact with horses also has a positive effect on the young peo-ple's spirits.

The young people can talk about topics that concern people with paraplegia and tetraple-gia. However, there are also in-depth con-versations about clothes, going out, and what is currently trendy. Friendships for life are formed. 

Sport is an important topic as people in wheelchairs need to ensure that their body is fit and strong. Transfers from their wheel-chair into bed, onto the sofa, and into the car are extremely physically demanding. The youth rehabilitation weeks provide the teen-agers with opportunities to try out various types of sport, such as using a hand bike or racing wheelchair, so that they can find something suitable for them. 

  • Using the pavement: There are ledges and small ramps all over the place to get onto the pavement or to leave it again. Able-bodied people are often unaware of these, but they present a great challenge to wheelchair users.
  • Wheelchair handling training: How do you get back into your wheelchair after a fall without needing help from another person?
  • Kitchen training: Arm and hand move-ments are often also limited. Which aids are available to make cooking easier for the young people, e.g. operating a whisk? How do you have to plan your preparations so that a meal is on the table at midday?
  • Catheterisation: Bladder and bowel func-tion is often restricted in people with a spi-nal cord injury. If young people can insert their own catheters, this makes them much more independent and autonomous (as they do not need to request Spitex nursing and care services). If they do not require help from another person, they can meet friends independently, spend a night away from home, and do not need Spitex nursing and care services at school or at work.

Friends for life

  • Yannik*, who has a spinal cord injury, lives in a fairly remote part of Graubünden. He leads an extremely secluded life and his over-anxious Mum hardly lets him have any freedom. On a visit to the family, a ParaHelp employee became aware of the tense situation.

    Once she was back in Nottwil, she informed the head of the holiday weeks that Yannik would be an ideal candidate for the youth rehabilitation programme. The idea was put into practice and Yannik arrived for the start of the youth rehabilitation weeks in Nottwil. His fairly low levels of motivation were discernible in the way that he hardly made contact with the other young people. However, there was another boy, Simon*, who had attended the holiday weeks before and who displayed an extremely high level of social competence. He made several attempts to get to know Yannik, but was rejected every time. Simon did not give up – and his persistence paid off! By the end of the three weeks, the two of them had become great friends and remain so today.

    Yannik was even allowed to visit his friend on his own, which would have been unimaginable before the holiday weeks. 

    *Names have been changed

Financing

  • The goals are individually defined for the young people on a case-by-case basis. This makes the youth rehabilitation weeks extremely cost-intensive and staff-intensive. Disability insurance contributions do not cover the actual costs.

    •    The whole youth rehabilitation programme costs CHF 165,360.00.
    •    Youth rehabilitation costs CHF 13,780.00 per young person for three weeks.
    •    The daily flat-rate fee is CHF 725.00 per young person.

    Without donations from private individuals and foundations, this offer cannot be maintained. However, the added value for the young people is priceless. 

Youth rehabilitation weeks 2019

Support young adults on their journey towards an independent life

Feel free to contact us at any time if you have any questions. We will be delighted to provide you with further information about this fantastic and extremely important project. 

General donations

Our bank details

Swiss Paraplegic Foundation
6207 Nottwil

IBAN 
CH14 0900 0000 6014 7293 5 

PC account 
60-147293-5

Jugendrehabilitations-Wochen

Projekt Jugendrehabilitations-Wochen

Jede Spende zählt

Spendenbetrag auswählen

Egal in welcher Höhe, Sie leisten einen wichtigen Beitrag für Querschnittgelähmte.

Auf, in ein selbständiges Leben!

Ein einzigartiges Projekt, welches junge Menschen im Rollstuhl unterstützt, ein möglichst selbständiges Leben führen zu können. Während 3 Wochen arbeiten sie intensiv an ihren gesteckten Zielen, um ihrer Selbständigkeit ein Stück näher zu kommen.

 

Jugendrehabilitations-Wochen
 Jugendrehabilitations-Wochen

Wieso ist dieses Projekt so wichtig?

Die lebenslange Betreuung und Begleitung von Menschen im Rollstuhl ist aus vielen Gründen unerlässlich. Neben der medizinischen und therapeutischen Versorgung ist es wichtig, Ziele wie Selbständigkeit, Selbstbestimmung, sportliche und soziale Integration zu erlangen. Je früher dies beginnt, umso besser sind die Aussichten der Jugendlichen auf Chancengleichheit und bessere Lebensqualität. Die Jugendlichen beschäftigen sich mit ähnlichen Themen wie Menschen ohne Beeinträchtigung: Es geht um Beziehung, Kleider, Aussehen und natürlich alles, was gerade hip und in ist. Sie wollen eigenständig sein und möglichst ohne die Hilfe von anderen auskommen.  

Was beinhalten die Jugendrehabilitations-Wochen?

Während drei Wochen kommen die Jugendlichen nach Nottwil. Für jeden einzelnenen werden Ziele definiert, die während diesen Wochen erreicht werden wollen. Menschen im Rollstuhl haben diverse Hürden, die es zu überwinden gilt. Erfahren Sie in der Bildstrecke und im untenstehenden Text mehr darüber. 

  • <p>Die Rolltreppe benützen ist für Fussgänger absolut selbstverständlich. Für Rollstuhlfahrer ist es hingegen eine Herausforderung, welche nur mit viel Übung gemeistert werden kann.</p>
  • <p>In den Jugendrehabilitations-Wochen ist auch das Stadttraining in Luzern fester Bestandteil. Auf dem Bild ist zu sehen, wie die Jugendlichen mit dem Euroschlüssel den Lift auf die Kappelbrücke bedienen. Im Stadttraining wird geübt, wie man sich in der Öffentlichkeit alleine fortbewegt.</p>
  • <p>Auch gemeinsame Ausflüge gehören zum Programm der Jugendrehabilitations-Wochen. Auf dem Eyhof in Nottwil können die Jugendlichen im Stroh schlafen. Dort sind zudem die Pferde stationiert, mit welchen die jungen Menschen die Hippotherapie machen. Der Kontakt mit den Pferden hat nebst dem therapeutischem Zweck auch eine positive Wirkung auf die Psyche der Jugendlichen.</p>
  • <p>Die Jugendlichen können über Themen sprechen, die Para-und Tetraplegiker beschäftigen. Aber auch Gespräche über Kleider, Ausgang und was gerade "Hip und In" ist, werden ausführlich besprochen. Es entstehen Freundschaften fürs Leben. </p>
  • <p>Sport ist ein wichtiges Thema. Menschen im Rollstuhl sind auf einen trainierten Körper angewiesen. Der Transfer vom Rollstuhl ins Bett, aufs Sofa und ins Auto ist körperlich sehr anspruchsvoll. In den Jugendrehabilitations-Wochen können die Teenager verschiedene Sportarten ausprobieren, wie zum Beispiel mit dem Handbike oder Rennrollstuhl fahren und so den für sie geeigneten Sport finden. </p>

Die Rolltreppe benützen ist für Fussgänger absolut selbstverständlich. Für Rollstuhlfahrer ist es hingegen eine Herausforderung, welche nur mit viel Übung gemeistert werden kann.

In den Jugendrehabilitations-Wochen ist auch das Stadttraining in Luzern fester Bestandteil. Auf dem Bild ist zu sehen, wie die Jugendlichen mit dem Euroschlüssel den Lift auf die Kappelbrücke bedienen. Im Stadttraining wird geübt, wie man sich in der Öffentlichkeit alleine fortbewegt.

Auch gemeinsame Ausflüge gehören zum Programm der Jugendrehabilitations-Wochen. Auf dem Eyhof in Nottwil können die Jugendlichen im Stroh schlafen. Dort sind zudem die Pferde stationiert, mit welchen die jungen Menschen die Hippotherapie machen. Der Kontakt mit den Pferden hat nebst dem therapeutischem Zweck auch eine positive Wirkung auf die Psyche der Jugendlichen.

Die Jugendlichen können über Themen sprechen, die Para-und Tetraplegiker beschäftigen. Aber auch Gespräche über Kleider, Ausgang und was gerade "Hip und In" ist, werden ausführlich besprochen. Es entstehen Freundschaften fürs Leben. 

Sport ist ein wichtiges Thema. Menschen im Rollstuhl sind auf einen trainierten Körper angewiesen. Der Transfer vom Rollstuhl ins Bett, aufs Sofa und ins Auto ist körperlich sehr anspruchsvoll. In den Jugendrehabilitations-Wochen können die Teenager verschiedene Sportarten ausprobieren, wie zum Beispiel mit dem Handbike oder Rennrollstuhl fahren und so den für sie geeigneten Sport finden. 

  • Trottoir fahren: Überall hat es Absätze oder kleine Rampen, um auf das Trottoir zu gelangen oder es wieder zu verlassen. Fussgängern ist dies oft gar nicht bewusst, für Rollstuhlfahrer ist es aber eine grosse Herausforderung.
  • Rollstuhlhandling trainieren: Wie gelangt man nach einem Sturz wieder in den Rollstuhl, ohne fremde Hilfe in Anspruch zu nehmen?
  • Küchentraining: Oftmals sind auch die Arm- und Handbewegungen eingeschränkt. Welche Hilfsmittel gibt es, die den Jugendlichen das Kochen erleichtern z.B. Betätigen eines Schwingbesens? Wie muss die Vorbereitung geplant sein, damit um 12.00 Uhr das Essen auf dem Tisch steht?
  • Katheterisieren: Bei Querschnittgelähmten ist meistens die Blasen – und Darmfunktion eingeschränkt. Können die Jugendlichen den Katheter selber setzen, sind sie viel selbständiger (da keine Spitex aufgeboten werden muss) und autonomer. Ohne Fremdhilfe können sie sich unabhängig mit Freunden treffen, mal auswärts übernachten und brauchen keine Spitex in der Schule oder am Arbeitsplatz.

Freunde für's Leben

  • Im Bündnerland, etwas abgeschieden, wohnt der querschnittgelähmte Yannik*. Er lebt sehr zurückgezogen und sein besorgtes Mami liess ihm kaum Freiheiten. Eine Mitarbeiterin der ParaHelp war zu Besuch bei der Familie und bemerkte die angespannte Situation.

    Zurück in Nottwil informierte sie die Leiterin der Ferienwochen, dass Yannik perfekt in das Programm der Jugendrehabilitation passen würde. Die Idee wurde in die Tat umgesetzt und so war Yannik beim Start der Jugendrehabilitations-Wochen in Nottwil dabei. Seine mässige Motivation war ihm anzumerken, sodass er auch kaum mit den anderen Jugendlichen in Kontakt kam. Aber da war noch ein anderer Knabe, Simon*, der nicht das erste Mal in den Ferienwochen in Nottwil war und eine äusserst hohe Sozialkompetenz aufwies. Er versuchte mehrfach an Yannik heranzukommen, dieser blitzte ihn stets ab. Simon blieb hartnäckig und gab nicht auf – mit Erfolg! Am Ende der drei Wochen waren die beiden sehr gute Freunde und sind es heute noch.

    Yannik durfte seinen Freund sogar alleine besuchen, was vor diesen Ferienwochen undenkbar gewesen wäre. 

    *Die Namen wurden geändert

Finanzierung

  • Die Ziele sind individuell auf die Jugendlichen abgestimmt. Die Jugendrehabilitations-Wochen sind daher sehr kosten- und personalintensiv. Die IV-Beiträge decken die effektiven Kosten nicht.

    • CHF 165'360 betragen die Gesamtkosten für die Jugendrehabilitations-Wochen
    • CHF 13'780 kostet die Jugendrehabilitation für 3 Wochen pro Jugendlichen
    • CHF 725 ist die Tagespauschale pro Jugendlichen

    Ohne Spenden von Privatpersonen und Stiftungen kann dieses Angebot nicht aufrecht erhalten werden. Der Mehrwert für die Jugendlichen ist aber unbezahlbar. 

Unterstützen Sie junge Erwachsene auf ihrem Weg in ein selbständiges Leben

Bei Fragen kontaktieren Sie uns ungeniert. Wir geben Ihnen gerne nähere Auskunft zu diesem tollen und sehr wichtigen Projekt. 

  • Beck Franzisca

    Leiterin Spenden- und Nachlassmarketing
    sps@paraplegie.ch
    Telefon +41 41 939 62 62
    Fax +41 41 939 62 63

Jugendrehabilitations-Wochen 2019

Allgemeine Spenden

Unsere Kontoverbindung

Schweizer Paraplegiker-Stiftung
6207 Nottwil

IBAN
CH14 0900 0000 6014 7293 5 

PC-Konto 
60-147293-5

Tax-Nummer: 1195279
(NPO-Steueridentifikationsnummer)