Schweizer Paraplegiker-Zentrum - Para Know-How

Para Know-how

Peer counselling

During peer counselling, people with paraplegia gather to offer each other mutual support. Peer counselling is based on the idea that people who find themselves in a certain situation are most likely to accept help from other people who are (or have been) in the same circumstances as themselves.

It is easier to open up about your problems if you are surrounded by like-minded people. During peer counselling, positive role models lead the discussion. These role models help newcomers begin the process of overcoming their own difficulties.
Peer counselling is also based on the assumption that in general, people are able to solve their problems if they have enough information to do so.

Together with their peer counsellors, patients develop their own ideas about what it means to be self-sufficient. Patients also benefit from the knowledge and experience of others who have suffered spinal cord injuries (Para Know-how). These “peers” take on the role of "motivators", as the most important requirement for successful rehabilitation is a strong willingness to get better.

 

Peer counselling team

An individual’s questions and concerns tend to differ, depending on their own particular disability. Our peer counselling team has experience with a variety of different disabilities, experiences and life situations:

  • Peers (men and women) for people with paraplegia
  • Peers (men and women) for people with tetraplegia
  • Peers for senior citizens with para- or tetraplegia
  • Peers for people with incomplete spinal cord injuries who are able to walk
  • Peers for people with critical illness syndromes
  • Peers for people with Guillain–Barré syndrome
  • Peers for the counselling of relatives of people with spinal cord injuries
Peer Counselling

Peer counselling is available in German, French, English, Italian and Spanish.

Para Know-how courses

Along with individual counselling sessions, peers organise and conduct group training programmes. Para Know-how courses unite people who have been living with a spinal cord injury for a long period of time with those who are just learning how to live with their disability, in a setting where participants can broaden their knowledge on paralysis-related topics such as spasticity, sexuality, etc.

Program (in german)

Course application (in german)

Living with a Spinal Cord Injury

The Swiss Paraplegic Centre published a comprehensive manual which addresses medical, nursing, therapeutic and everyday questions. 

The manual is availabe in English, German, Italian and French. Please send the completed order form to:  
pflegemanagement@paraplegie.ch

Learning by doing

Once a month, peers meet with an interprofessional rehabilitation team (nurses, physiotherapists and occupational therapists) and patients from other centres for outings such as sporting events, concerts, the cinema, guided tours, boat trips, etc.
These “learning by doing” events are geared towards testing patients’ skills and know-how outside the snug confines of the rehabilitation centre, and then creating action plans for improvement. Some of these tests include the use of public transport and toilets, shopping for one’s own clothes and autonomous travel.

Rolli talk

Five times per year, peers invite patients and their relatives to “rolli talks”. Rolli talks are held in the evening. Registration is not required. During these talks, participants are introduced to or visit various aspects of the SPG – wheelchair mechanics, the library, the pain clinic, urology, SIRMED, art therapy, the SPA, etc. – and then gather for a drink and a bite to eat before turning in for the night.

Contact

The following may also be of interest to you

Become a member and receive CHF 250,00 in the event of an emergency.

Donate now and support our projects in favor of people affected by spinal cord injuries.

Schweizer Paraplegiker-Zentrum - Para Know-How

Para Know-how

Betroffene beraten Betroffene

Mit dem Begriff Peer Counselling wird eine spezielle Form der Beratung bezeichnet, bei der Betroffene durch Betroffene beraten werden. Dabei wird von dem Selbstverständnis ausgegangen, dass Menschen, die sich in einer bestimmten Situation befinden, am glaubwürdigsten Hilfe von Menschen annehmen können, die gleiche oder ähnliche Situationen bereits selbst durchlebt haben.

Der Mut, Probleme authentisch zu offenbaren ist grösser, wenn man mit Gleichgesinnten darüber spricht. Es wird eine positive Vorbildrolle wahrgenommen. Diese kann motivierend wirken, mit der Bewältigung der eigenen Schwierigkeiten zu beginnen.
Dem Peer Counselling liegt die Annahme zugrunde, dass Menschen in der Regel selbst dazu in der Lage sind, ihre Probleme zu lösen, wenn sie über genügend Informationen verfügen.

Die Patienten bearbeiten einzelne Themen der Selbstversorgung zusammen mit den Peer Counsellors und profitieren so vom Wissen und den Erfahrungen von Direktbetroffenen (Para Know-how). Zudem übernehmen die „Peers“ die Rolle eines Motivators, da die wichtigste Voraussetzung für eine erfolgreiche Rehabilitation eine gute Motivation ist.

 

Peer Counseling-Team

Themen, Fragen und Probleme sind abhängig von der individuellen Behinderung jedes Einzelnen. Darum arbeiten im Peer Counselling-Team Mitarbeitende mit ganz unterschiedlichen Behinderungen, Erfahrungen und in unterschiedlichen Lebenssituationen:

  • Peer (Männer und Frauen) für Menschen mit Paraplegie
  • Peer (Männer und Frauen) für Menschen mit Tetraplegie
  • Peer für Senioren mit Para- oder Tetraplegie
  • Peer für Menschen mit inkompletten Querschnittlähmungen mit Gehfähigkeit
  • Peer für Menschen mit Critical Illness-Syndrom
  • Peer für Menschen mit Guillan Barré-Syndrom
  • Angehörigen-Peer für die Beratung von Angehörigen von Menschen mit einer Querschnittlähmung
Peer Counselling

Das Peer-Counselling Team berät in verschiedenen Sprachen: Deutsch, Französisch, Englisch, Italienisch und Spanisch.

Para Know-how-Kurse

Neben Einzelberatungen werden auch Gruppenschulungen von den Peers organisiert und durchgeführt. In den Para know-how-Kursen treffen Menschen aufeinander, die bereits seit Längerem mit einer Querschnittlähmung leben und Menschen, die erst dabei sind mit einer Querschnittlähmung leben zu lernen, um gemeinsam ihr Wissen zu querschnittspezifischen Themen zu erweitern, wie z. B. Spastizität, Sexualität etc.

Kursprogramm

Kursanmeldung

Leben mit einer Querschnittlähmung

Das Schweizer Paraplegiker-Zentrum hat ein umfassendes Manual herausgegeben, das Patienten und Angehörigen dabei hilft, sich das Fachwissen zum Leben mit einer Querschnittlähmung anzueignen. Der attraktiv gestaltete reich illustrierte Ordner ist als Nachschlagewerk konzipiert, das alle wichtigen Fragen zu Medizin, Pflege, Therapie und Alltag eines Querschnittgelähmten abdeckt.

Der Ordner ist in den Sprachen Deutsch, Französisch, Italienisch und Englisch zu kaufen. Bitte senden Sie das ausgefüllte Bestellformular an: pflegemanagement@paraplegie.ch

Learning by Doing

Einmal monatlich sind die Peers zusammen mit einem interprofessionellen Rehateam (bestehend aus Pflege, Physiotherapie und Ergotherapie) und Patienten ausserhalb des Schweizer Paraplegiker-Zentrums unterwegs, zu Sportanlässen und Konzerten, im Kino, Stadtführungen, Schiffsrundfahrten usw.
Diese Learning by Doing Events haben den Fokus, Wissen und erlernte Fertigkeiten, ausserhalb der optimal angepassten Umgebung im Rehabilitationszentrum, zu testen, um zu sehen, wo noch Wissenslücken bestehen. Auch das Benützen von öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln und Toiletten, Einkaufen von geeigneter Kleidung, Reisen usw. wird dabei thematisiert.

Rolli-Talk

Zu den Rolli Talk's laden die Peers fünf Mal jährlich Patienten und Angehörige ein. Die Rolli Talk's finden abends statt, eine Anmeldung ist nicht nötig. Vorgestellt und besucht werden verschiedene Bereiche der SPG - Rollstuhlmechanik, Bibliothek, Schmerzklinik, Urologie, SIRMED, Kunsttherapie, SPV usw. abgerundet wird der Abend bei einem Apéro.

Kontakt

Für Sie auch interessant

Werden Sie jetzt Mitglied und erhalten Sie im Ernstfall CHF 250'000 Gönnerunterstützung.

Spenden Sie jetzt und unterstützen Sie unsere Projekte zugunsten Querschnittgelähmter.