Our philosophy

The Swiss Paraplegic Group is a centre of excellence, and the reference institution for anyone living with a spinal cord injury in Switzerland or surrounding countries.

Basel in the 1970s: while on the job, the young doctor Guido A. Zäch discovered just how little hope Switzerland offered residents who were living with spinal cord injuries: long hospital stays, poor medical care and no career perspectives. 

Taking matters into his own hands, he decided to campaign for improvements in the treatment of paraplegics. He sought to make paraplegics equals, allowing them to enjoy an autonomous way of life instead of remaining marginalised members of society. His goal was to create a centre of expertise where all those affected by spinal cord injuries in Switzerland and surrounding countries could meet. The centre was to provide for the comprehensive rehabilitation and professional and social reintegration of people affected by spinal cord injuries. Little by little, Guido created an organisation with an extensive range of services.

1975: Founding of the Swiss Paraplegic Foundation (SPF)
1978: Founding of the Swiss Paraplegic Foundation Benefactors' Association
1980: Founding of the Swiss Paraplegics Association (SPA)
1990: Opening of the Swiss Paraplegic Centre (SPC) in Nottwil
1994: Founding of Orthotec AG
2002: Founding of Swiss Paraplegic Research (SPR)
2003: Founding of the Swiss Institute of Emergency Medicine (Sirmed)
2005: Opening of the Guido A. Zäch Institute (GZI) in Nottwil

 

With the opening of the Guido A. Zäch Institute in Nottwil, a unique and integral network of services became available for people living with a back or spinal cord injury. The Swiss Paraplegic Group (SPG) is made up of the Swiss Paraplegic Foundation (SPF) and the latter’s subsidiaries and partner organisations.

Structure of the Swiss Paraplegic Group

Today, around 1,600 professionals and experts work together to ensure this unique network of services remains intact.

A unique network of services

The Swiss Paraplegic Group places the patient front and centre, doing its utmost to achieve its overall goal of meeting the needs of people affected by spinal cord injuries. The SPG acts responsibly with regard to its sponsors, uses resources for their intended purpose and provides transparent information regarding its activities. Its daily work is governed by trust, esteem, teamwork, results and the maintenance of its pioneering role in the industry.

The Swiss Paraplegic Group (SPG) is a global and unique network of services that provides for the comprehensive rehabilitation of people living with spinal cord injuries – from the scene of the accident or the diagnosis of a disease until the end of the patients’ lives. The SPG offers services in four key areas: Solidarity (Swiss Paraplegic Foundation, Benefactors’ Association, Hotel Sempachersee), medicine (Swiss Paraplegic Centre, ParaHelp, Sirmed), research (Swiss Paraplegic Research) and integration and lifelong assistance (Swiss Paraplegics Association, Orthotec). Around 1,600 professionals and specialists from a variety of areas and disciplines work together closely to fulfil this core mission.

Leistungsfelder Schweizer Paraplegiker Gruppe Nottwil

Swiss Paraplegic Group service structure

Our mission

We at the Swiss Paraplegic Group provide for the comprehensive treatment and rehabilitation of people living with spinal cord injuries, and help our patients to rediscover an autonomous way of life.

  • Swiss Paraplegic Foundation (SPF)

    The Swiss Paraplegic Foundation (SPF) is one of Switzerland's largest not-for-profit solidarity networks. The Swiss Paraplegic Group offers a comprehensive network of services to people with spinal cord injuries. Its combination of dependable services - from support at the scene of the accident to medical treatment, rehabilitation and lifelong assistance - is unmatched in Switzerland. The 1.8 million members of the Swiss Paraplegic Foundation Benefactors' Association provide the solidarity network with a strong and sustainable financial base. 

    Benefactors’ Association of the Swiss Paraplegic Foundation

    With over 1.8 million members, the Swiss Paraplegic Foundation Benefactors’ Association is one of the largest membership organisations in Switzerland. It was founded in 1978. The membership fees of this solidarity-based association allow for the Foundation’s objectives to be met: comprehensive treatment and rehabilitation, and the re-integration of para- and tetraplegics into their family, professional and social lives. Members who suffer an accident that results in a spinal cord injury and permanent dependence on a wheelchair will receive a payment of 250,000 Swiss francs. This kind of support is not only unique to Switzerland, but to the entire world.

    Hotel Sempachersee (HSS)

    The Hotel Sempachersee (HSS) in Nottwil is a subsidiary of the Swiss Paraplegic Foundation. The HSS is an ISO-certified hotel and has been named Swiss Conference Hotel of the Year on eight different occasions. Renovated in the fall of 2017, the hotel now boasts 41 conference rooms, three outdoor meeting spaces, two auditoriums, a lecture hall, the “Sempia” à la carte restaurant, the “Vivace” buffet-style restaurant, the “Aurora” banquet-style restaurant, the Lago bar with its garden lounge, the Onda bar in the GZI and 150 hotel rooms. Thanks to its wheelchair accessibility, the HSS is the perfect meeting place for both wheelchair- and non-wheelchair-users alike.

  • Swiss Paraplegic Centre (SPC):

    The Swiss Paraplegic Centre (SPC) is a privately owned clinic known all over Switzerland for being the leaders in the primary care, acute treatment, comprehensive rehabilitation and lifelong support of people living with spinal cord injuries and spinal cord-related syndromes. The SPC has 150 beds and an intensive care unit. The annual bed occupancy is 97%. In 2016, the SPC performed 1,085 inpatient treatments and nearly 53,000 days of care. The SPC employs more than 1,100 people from 80 different professional backgrounds. Since opening in 1990, over 250,000 inpatient and outpatient treatments have been conducted at the centre.
    The SPC was opened by Dr Guido A. Zäch in 1990. The specialised clinic is part of the Swiss Paraplegic Group (SPG), which is comprised of an extensive network of services providing for the the comprehensive rehabilitation of people with spinal cord injuries. The network is backed by the Swiss Paraplegic Foundation (SPF).

    Swiss Paraplegic Centre - renovation and expansion
    After a groundbreaking ceremony on 1 October 2015, construction is now well underway in Nottwil, and intended to build upon our past success. The expansion will create room for additional wards, a new intensive care unit and state-of-the-art operating rooms. A solution to the shortages of the past few years, the expansion will allow for approximately 1,300 inpatient treatments to be performed in the future (compared to 1,000 today). By the end of 2020, there will be a total of 190 available beds for such treatments.
    The new premises are expected to be ready for occupation by the middle of 2018.
    The clinic will continue to offer full outpatient and inpatient services throughout the construction period.

    Swiss Institute of Emergency Medicine (Sirmed)

    Sirmed, the Swiss Institute of Emergency Medicine, is a subsidiary of the Swiss Paraplegic Foundation (SPF). Sirmed is an expert in the administration of high-quality training in the fields of rescue and emergency medicine. Its courses are geared towards professionals and laypeople alike.

  • Orthotec

    Orthotec is a subsidiary of the Swiss Paraplegic Foundation (SPF) with headquarters at the Swiss Paraplegic Centre (SPC) in Nottwil. Orthotec offers a wide range of services to SPC patients as well as members of the public, covering topics such as orthopaedics, rehabilitation and wheelchair technology, and vehicle adaptation. Orthotec is also the market leader in the area of incontinence care.

    Active Communication (AC)

    Active Communication AG has been a subsidiary of the Swiss Paraplegic Foundation (SPF) since 1 January 2018. AC has been providing electronic and didactic aids to people with disabilities or neurological disorders since 1999, helping patients to enjoy increased activity and autonomy in their everyday lives. 

    ParaHelp

    ParaHelp counsels and supports people all over Switzerland who are affected by paralysis-related disabilities, providing customised, professional and targeted information to address the specific care and treatment needs of both patients and their families. ParaHelp’s approach is centred around home-based rehabilitation, complication prevention and improvements in quality of life.

    Swiss Paraplegics Association (SPA)

    The Swiss Paraplegic Association (SPA), which was founded in 1980 and has a membership of around 11,000, is the national umbrella organisation for people with spinal cord injuries. It promotes, represents and coordinates the interests of paraplegics, tetraplegics and other members throughout all of Switzerland. The SPA also provides support to 27 Swiss wheelchair clubs.

    Its approximately 220 employees (100 of which are full-time) and 2,000 volunteers strive to meet the social, political and personal needs of its members, and are committed to helping paraplegics and tetraplegics to reintegrate into society and improve their quality of life. Its services include the Institute for Legal Advice, Wheelchair Sport Switzerland (promotion of elite and grassroots sports), the Centre for Wheelchair-Accessible Construction and the Departments of Life Guidance and Culture and Leisure, the latter of which has its own travel agency and fleet of tour buses. The SPA publishes the member magazine “Paracontact", the sports bulletin ‘GoAhead” and the directory for wheelchair-accessible hotels www.rollihotel.ch, and provides sports information at www.rollstuhlsportevents.ch.

  • Swiss Paraplegic Research (SPR)

    Swiss Paraplegic Research (SPR), founded in 2000, is a research institution that is backed by the Swiss Paraplegic Foundation (SPF). SPR employs 65 members of staff. SPR conducts comprehensive rehabilitation research on the interaction between physical, mental and social factors in the development and overcoming of disabilities. SPR cooperates with other organisations at a national and international level. Recognised and promoted by the Swiss government and cantonal authorities as a non-university research institution, SPR, which has created an endowed professorship, a seminar on health sciences and health policy at the University of Lucerne and a Master’s Programme in Health Sciences, plays an important role in Switzerland’s research environment.

    Online community

    The online community reaches out to people living with spinal cord injuries, as well as the latter’s families and friends. The online community is ideal for exchanging ideas or obtaining valuable information from professionals.

    Swiss Spinal Cord Injury Cohort Study (SwiSCI):
    the SwiSCI is the national research platform for people with spinal cord injuries. It is operated by Swiss Paraplegic Research in conjunction with all paraplegia centres in Switzerland and the SUVA (Swiss National Accident Insurance Fund).

    Innovation Centre for Assistive Technology (IAT)

    The Swiss Paraplegic Foundation introduced the Innovation Centre for Assistive Technology (IAT) on 1 January 2018. As a centre of expertise and knowledge factory, it is the point of contact for the development and enhancement of resources for people with spinal cord injuries.

Interesting links

Become a member and receive CHF 250,00 in the event of an emergency.

Donate now and support our projects in favor of people affected by spinal cord injuries.

Unsere Vision

Die Schweizer Paraplegiker-Gruppe ist Kompetenzzentrum und Referenzinstitution für alle Menschen mit Querschnittlähmung in der Schweiz und im nahen Ausland.

Basel in den 1970-er Jahren: Der junge Arzt Guido A. Zäch erfährt bei seiner Arbeit, wie wenig Perspektiven das Leben von Querschnittgelähmten auch in der Schweiz bietet; lange Spitalaufenthalte, schlechte Betreuung, keine Berufsperspektiven. 

Er beschliesst, sich für Verbesserungen einzusetzen. Anstelle eines Daseins am Rande der Gesellschaft will er querschnittgelähmten Menschen ein gleichberechtigtes und selbstbestimmtes Leben ermöglichen. Sein Ziel ist es, ein Kompetenz- und Begegnungszentrum für alle Betroffenen in der Schweiz und im nahen Ausland zu schaffen. Es soll eine ganzheitliche Rehabilitation und die berufliche wie soziale Wiedereingliederung von Querschnittgelähmten ermöglichen. Nach und nach baute er eine Organisation mit umfassenden Dienstleistungen auf.

1975: Gründung der Schweizer Paraplegiker-Stiftung (SPS)
1978: Gründung der Gönner-Vereinigung der Schweizer Paraplegiker-Stiftung (GöV)
1980: Gründung der Schweizer Paraplegiker-Vereinigung (SPV)
1990: Eröffnung des Schweizer Paraplegiker-Zentrums (SPZ) in Nottwil
1994: Gründung der Orthotec AG
2002: Gründung der Schweizer Paraplegiker-Forschung (SPF)
2003: Gründung des Schweizer Instituts für Rettungsmedizin (Sirmed)
2005: Eröffnung des Guido A. Zäch Instituts (GZI) in Nottwil

 

Es entstand ein einzigartiges integrales Leistungsnetz für Menschen mit Querschnittlähmung und Rückenverletzungen. Zusammen mit ihren Tochtergesellschaften und Partnerorganisationen bildet die SPS die Schweizer Paraplegiker-Gruppe (SPG).

Gliederung Schweizer Paraplegiker-Gruppe Nottwil

Heute arbeiten rund 1600 Berufsleute und Spezialisten eng zusammen, um dieses einmalige Leistungsnetz aufrecht zu erhalten.

Ein einzigartiges Leistungsnetz

Die Schweizer Paraplegiker-Gruppe stellt den Menschen in den Mittelpunkt und handelt im Sinne der übergeordneten Zielsetzung. Sie verhält sich gegenüber ihren Förderern verantwortungsvoll, setzt die Mittel zweckorientiert ein und informiert transparent. Die tägliche Arbeit ist geprägt von Vertrauen, Wertschätzung, Zusammenarbeit, Ergebnisorientierung sowie einer Vorreiterrolle.

Die Schweizer Paraplegiker-Gruppe (SPG) ist ein weltweit einzigartiges Leistungsnetz für die ganzheitliche Rehabilitation von Menschen mit Querschnittlähmung – beginnend an der Unfallstelle oder bei krankheitsbedingter Diagnose, ein Leben lang. Die SPG deckt vier Leistungsfelder ab: Solidarität (Schweizer Paraplegiker-Stiftung, Gönner-Vereinigung, Hotel Sempachersee), Medizin (Schweizer Paraplegiker-Zentrum, ParaHelp, Sirmed), Forschung (Schweizer Paraplegiker-Forschung) sowie Integration und lebenslange Begleitung (Schweizer Paraplegiker-Vereinigung, Orthotec). Um den Kernauftrag zu erfüllen, arbeiten rund 1‘600 Berufsleute und Spezialisten der verschiedenen Bereiche und Fachdisziplinen eng zusammen.

Leistungsfelder Schweizer Paraplegiker Gruppe Nottwil

Leistungsfelder der Schweizer Paraplegiker-Gruppe

Unsere Mission

Die Schweizer Paraplegiker-Gruppe stellt die ganzheitliche Behandlung und Rehabilitation von Querschnittgelähmten sicher und fördert die Wiedereingliederung in ein selbstbestimmtes Leben.

  • Schweizer Paraplegiker-Stiftung (SPS)

    Die Schweizer Paraplegiker-Stiftung (SPS) gehört zu den grössten gemeinnützigen Solidarwerken unseres Landes. Die Schweizer Paraplegiker-Gruppe umfasst ein integrales Leistungsnetz für Querschnittgelähmte. Die Verknüpfung lückenloser Dienstleistungen von der Unfallstelle über die medizinische Versorgung, Rehabilitation bis zur lebenslangen Begleitung und Beratung ist einzigartig. 1,8 Mio. Personen sichern mit ihrer Zugehörigkeit zur Gönner-Vereinigung der Schweizer Paraplegiker-Stiftung eine tragfähige finanzielle Basis für die Tätigkeit dieses Solidarwerks. 

    Gönner-Vereinigung der Schweizer Paraplegiker-Stiftung (GöV)

    Mit über 1,8 Millionen Personen zählt die Gönner-Vereinigung der Schweizer Paraplegiker-Stiftung zu den grössten Mitgliederorganisationen der Schweiz. Sie wurde 1978 gegründet. Dank der Solidarität der Gönner ist es mit den Mitgliederbeiträgen möglich, den Stiftungszweck zu erfüllen: die ganzheitliche Behandlung, Rehabilitation und Integration von Para- und Tetraplegikern in Familie, Beruf und Gesellschaft. Bei einer unfallbedingten Querschnittlähmung mit permanenter Rollstuhlabhängigkeit erhalten Mitglieder einen Unterstützungsbeitrag von 250 000 Franken, was nicht nur in der Schweiz, sondern weltweit einzigartig ist.

    Hotel Sempachersee (HSS)

    Das Hotel Sempachersee (HSS) in Nottwil ist eine Tochtergesellschaft der Schweizer Paraplegiker-Stiftung. Das HSS ist ISO-zertifiziert und wurde bereits acht Mal zum Schweizer Seminarhotel des Jahres gewählt. Nach Abschluss des Umbaus im Herbst 2017 werden 41 Seminarräume, drei Aussenseminarplattformen, zwei Auditorien, eine Aula, das à la carte-Restaurant Sempia, das Free-Flow-Restaurant Vivace sowie das Bankettrestaurant Aurora, die Lago Bar mit Garden Lounge, die Onda Bar im GZI und 150 Hotelzimmer angeboten. Dank seiner hindernisfreien Infrastruktur fördert das HSS die Begegnung zwischen Fussgängern und Rollstuhlfahrern.

  • Schweizer Paraplegiker-Zentrum (SPZ):

    Das Schweizer Paraplegiker-Zentrum (SPZ) ist eine private, landesweit anerkannte Spezialklinik für die Erstversorgung, Akutbehandlung, ganzheitliche Rehabilitation und lebenslange Begleitung von Querschnittgelähmten sowie Menschen mit querschnittähnlichen Syndromen. Im SPZ stehen 150 Betten inklusive Intensivpflegestation zur Verfügung. Die jährliche Bettenbelegung beträgt 97%. 2016 wurden im SPZ 1‘085 stationäre Behandlungen verzeichnet und fast 53‘000 Pflegetage geleistet. Das SPZ beschäftigt über 1‘100 Mitarbeitende aus 80 Berufen. Seit der Eröffnung 1990 wurden über 250‘000 ambulante und stationäre Behandlungen durchgeführt.
    Das SPZ wurde 1990 von Dr. med. Guido A. Zäch eröffnet. Die Spezialklinik gehört zur Schweizer Paraplegiker-Gruppe (SPG), welche ein integrales Netzwerk zur ganzheitlichen Rehabilitation von Querschnittgelähmten bildet. Trägerschaft des Netzwerks ist die Schweizer Paraplegiker-Stiftung (SPS).

    Schweizer Paraplegiker-Zentrum wird erneuert und erweitert
    Seit dem Spatenstich vom 1. Oktober 2015 wird in Nottwil gebaut nach dem Motto «Wir entwickeln eine Erfolgsgeschichte weiter». Der Erweiterungsbau schafft Platz für zusätzliche Bettenstationen, eine neue Intensivstation sowie hochmoderne Operationssäle. Damit wird auf die Kapazitätsengpässe der letzten Jahre reagiert. Künftig können statt der heute rund 1000 zirka 1300 stationäre Behandlungen geleistet werden. Ab Ende 2020 stehen dafür 190 Betten zur Verfügung.
    Voraussichtlich Mitte 2018 ist der Erweiterungsbau bezugsbereit.
    Die ambulanten und stationären Dienstleistungen der Klinik werden während der gesamten Bauzeit vollumfänglich angeboten.

    Schweizer Institut für Rettungsmedizin (Sirmed)

    Sirmed, das Schweizer Institut für Rettungsmedizin, ist eine Tochtergesellschaft der Schweizer Paraplegiker-Stiftung (SPS). Die Kernkompetenz der Sirmed liegt in qualitativ hochstehenden Bildungsangeboten für das Rettungs- und Notfallwesen. Das Angebot richtet sich an Laien wie Profis.

  • Orthotec

    Die Orthotec ist eine Tochtergesellschaft der Schweizer Paraplegiker-Stiftung (SPS) mit Firmensitz im Schweizer Paraplegiker-Zentrum (SPZ) in Nottwil. Für die Patienten des SPZ sowie externe Kunden erbringt die Orthotec sämtliche Leistungen der Orthopädie-, Rehabilitations- und Rollstuhltechnik sowie Fahrzeugumbau. Darüber hinaus ist die Orthotec führend auf dem Gebiet der Inkontinenz-Versorgung.

    Active Communication (AC)

    Seit dem 1. Januar 2018 ist die Active Communication AG eine Tochtergesellschaft der Schweizer Paraplegiker-Stiftung (SPS). Das Unternehmen versorgt seit 1999 Menschen mit Behinderung oder einer neurologischen Erkrankung mit elektronischen und didaktischen Hilfsmitteln für mehr Teilhabe und Selbstbestimmung im Alltag. 

    ParaHelp

    Die Tochtergesellschaft ParaHelp berät und unterstützt schweizweit Menschen mit lähmungsbedingten Behinderungen sowie deren Umfeld fachspezifisch, individuell und zielgerichtet bei Fragen zu Pflege und Betreuung. Im Mittelpunkt steht die Rehabilitation zu Hause, die Vermeidung von Komplikationen sowie die Förderung der Lebensqualität.

    Schweizer Paraplegiker-Vereinigung (SPV)

    Die 1980 gegründete Schweizer Paraplegiker-Vereinigung (SPV) ist der nationale Dachverband der Querschnittgelähmten mit rund 11 000 Mitgliedern. Sie fördert, vertritt und koordiniert gesamtschweizerisch die Anliegen der Para- und Tetraplegiker sowie weiterer Mitglieder. Zudem unterstützt sie 27 regionale Rollstuhlclubs in der ganzen Schweiz.

    Rund 220 Mitarbeitende (100 davon festangestellt) und 2000 Freiwillige setzen sich für gesellschaftliche, soziale, politische und persönliche Belange der Mitglieder ein und engagieren sich für deren Wiedereingliederung sowie für die Verbesserung der Lebensqualität. Zum Leistungsangebot gehören das Institut für Rechtsberatung, Rollstuhlsport Schweiz (Förderung des Spitzen- und Breitensports), das Zentrum für hindernisfreies Bauen, der Geschäftsbereich Lebensberatung sowie der Geschäftsbereich Kultur und Freizeit mit seinem Reisebüro und der eigenen Reisebusflotte. Die SPV gibt zudem die Mitgliederzeitschrift Paracontact, den Sportnewsletter GoAhead und den Führer für rollstuhlgängige Hotels www.rollihotel.ch heraus und bietet Sportinformationen auf www.rollstuhlsportevents.ch an.

  • Schweizer Paraplegiker-Forschung (SPF)

    Die Schweizer Paraplegiker-Forschung (SPF) ist ein von der Schweizer Paraplegiker-Stiftung (SPS) getragenes Forschungsinstitut und wurde im Jahr 2000 gegründet. Die SPF beschäftigt 65 Mitarbeitende. Kernkompetenz der SPF ist die ganzheitliche Rehabilitationsforschung zum Zusammenspiel körperlicher, psychischer und sozialer Faktoren bei der Entwicklung und Überwindung von Behinderung. Die SPF kooperiert national und international. Mit der Anerkennung und Förderung als ausseruniversitäre Forschungsinstitution durch Bund und Kanton, mit der Schaffung einer Stiftungsprofessur sowie dem Seminar für Gesundheitswissenschaften und Gesundheitspolitik an der Universität Luzern und einem Masterstudiengang in Gesundheitswissenschaften, erfüllt die SPF eine wichtige Aufgabe am Forschungsplatz Schweiz.

    Online-Community

    Die Online-Community wendet sich an Betroffene, deren Angehörige und Freunde. Die können sich austauschen, finden aber auch Rat bei Fachpersonen.

    «Swiss Spinal Cord Injury Cohort Study» (SwiSCI):
    Dies ist die nationale Forschungsplattform für Personen mit Rückenmarksverletzungen, betrieben durch die Schweizer Paraplegiker-Forschung in Zusammenarbeit mit allen Paraplegiezentren der Schweiz und der SUVA.

    Innovationszentrum für assistive Technologien (IAT)

    Die Schweizer Paraplegiker-Stiftung hat ab 1. Januar 2018 das Innovationszentrum für assistive Technologien (IAT) geschaffen. Als Kompetenzzentrum und Wissensfabrik ist es Anlaufstelle für die Neu- und Weiterentwicklung von Hilfsmitteln für Querschnittgelähmte.

Interessante Links

Werden Sie jetzt Mitglied und erhalten Sie im Ernstfall CHF 250'000 Gönnerunterstützung.

Spenden Sie jetzt und unterstützen Sie unsere Projekte zugunsten Querschnittgelähmter.